CareOregon supporters gather to celebrate 25 years of improving health outcomes for Oregonians

25th anniversary party - CEO group 1

Twenty-five years of CareOregon leaders gathered on Nov. 7. From left to right: Dave Ford (CEO 2004-2012),
Pat Curran (CEO 2012-2015), Eric C. Hunter (CEO 2016-present), Scott Clement (2016 Interim CEO), and Mary Lou Hennrich (CEO 1994-2004)

On Nov. 7, seventy-seven guests gathered at the Sentinel Hotel for an evening with cherished friends and colleagues to celebrate CareOregon’s 25-year anniversary.

Representatives from every era in the company’s evolution were present, including representatives from the 1993 Advisory Board who helped found the organization, past executive staff, key community partners, Board Members spanning the decades, and every CEO that has led the company.

“It was truly a special night,” said Eric C. Hunter, CareOregon CEO. “The energy that built CareOregon still lives on today in our mission, vision and values. Being in one room, swapping stories, the energy and optimism was palpable.”

This informal “family” gathering was replete with photo slideshows, awards and a look ahead at what is in store for the organization.

“When you reach key milestones, it is important to look back,” said Hunter. “Twenty-five years is a long time. We’ve touched hundreds of thousands of lives. It is important to celebrate those that have helped us achieve success along the way and build on what we’ve created together.”

The evening’s program included:

• Words of acknowledgement from Susan Hennessy, Board of Directors Vice Chair about our work 1994 to present.
• CareOregon’s current work and a look ahead from CEO Eric C. Hunter
• Brief awards ceremony celebrating CareOregon’s core values. Awardees included:
     º Service: Ed Blackburn, former CEO Central City Concern
     º Passion: Mary Lou Hennrich, founding CareOregon CEO
     º Innovation: David Ford, CareOregon CEO (2004-2012)
     º Results & Initiative: Hon. John Kitzhaber
     º Teamwork: Vickie Gates, Former CareOregon Board Chair